Symphonic pictures with Sir Simon Rattle

In this concert, Simon Rattle guides us through a gallery of symphonic pictures: a delicate scene from antiquity in Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune; colourful, fairy-tale illustrations in Dvořák’s Golden Spinning Wheel, and an Expressionist drama in Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht. The concert closes in the portrait gallery with Elgar’s Enigma Variations, a series of highly original and affectionate portrayals of the composer’s friends.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Claude Debussy composer
Antonín Dvořák composer
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Edward Elgar composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy