Simon Rattle conducts Sibelius’s Symphonies Nos. 5–7

This concert is the culmination of Simon Rattle’s celebrated Sibelius cycle from the 2009/10 season. The programme consists of symphonies nos. 5, 6 and 7, in which the qualities of the earlier works merge: the lyrical Nordic tone of the first two symphonies, and the experimental formal language and harmonies of Symphonies Nos. 3 and 4. An evening which, in the view of the Guardian, revealed “the orchestra’s most precious asset: its total dedication”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy