Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket


Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra, Wynton Marsalis

  • Igor Stravinsky
    Petrushka (revised version from 1947) (00:40:05)

  • Wynton Marsalis
    Swing Symphony Première (01:10:45)

    Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra

  • free

    Sir Simon Rattle and Wynton Marsalis in conversation with Catherine Milliken (00:18:51)

It was at the 1983 Grammy Awards when trumpeter Wynton Marsalis was honoured as both a jazz and a classical musician, something unique at that time. An outstanding ability in both genres has been his trademark to this day, as can be heard at this Berliner Philharmoniker concert. Together with his band – the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra – he premieres his Swing Symphony with the Philharmoniker conducted by Sir Simon Rattle. 

Commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation, this composition is Marsalis’s third symphonic work. With this piece his intention is no less than to trace the long and rich history of jazz. The Symphony will later be performed as a dance piece by Berlin schoolchildren in the context of this year’s Philharmoniker’s dance project entitled “MusicTANZ – Live from the Arena”. Incidentally, Marsalis’s guest appearance is far from being a debut: as long ago as 2001 he performed an evening of Stravinsky and Gershwin with the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra and the Berliner Philharmoniker under the direction of Claudio Abbado. 

There will, on the other hand, be a premiere with Simon Rattle’s interpretation of Stravinsky’s ballet music Petrushka. Together with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Rattle has repeatedly performed other scores by the composer – Le Sacre du printemps in particluar – and this with tremendous success. It will be the first time they play this work together, the story of the ill-starred Petrushka who first loses the object of his affection and then his life at a Russian Shrovetide fair.

EMI Sir Simon Rattle appears by kind permission of EMI Classics.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free