Simon Rattle conducts the first live concert of the Digital Concert Hall

Simon Rattle conducts the first live concert of the Digital Concert Hall

06 Jan 2009

Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

  • Antonín Dvořák
    Slavonic Dance in G minor, op.46 no. 8 (26 min.)

  • Johannes Brahms
    Symphony No. 1 in C minor, op. 68 (50 min.)

With this concert, the Berliner Philharmoniker and their chief conductor Sir Simon Rattle celebrated the first live broadcast from the Digital Concert Hall on 6 January 2009. Since then, audiences have been able to enjoy nearly all of the orchestra’s Berlin programmes live on the Internet. After the broadcast, the concerts are made available to the public permanently in the platform archive; older recordings with previous chief conductors Herbert von Karajan and Claudio Abbado, numerous interviews and documentary films may also be accessed in the archive.

Both the occasion and the programme of the special concert reflect a beginning. Not until he reached the comparatively advanced age of 43 did Johannes Brahms present his First Symphony to the public in 1876. Like composers before and after him, the example of Beethoven in this genre seemed overwhelming to Brahms; more than fourteen years of hard work preceded the publication of the symphony.

The conductor and orchestra played a Slavonic Dance by Antonín Dvořák as impressive opening music; in addition, the English journalist Terry Martin conducted interviews with Sir Simon Rattle and the principal cellist of the Philharmoniker, Olaf Maninger, who is also a member of the Media Board and one of the initiators of the Digital Concert Hall. Jürgen Fitschen was also present as a representative of the Deutsche Bank, whose financial support made the Berliner Philharmoniker’s exciting journey to a new media future possible.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist