Simon Rattle conducts Dvořák, Elgar and a première

In this concert, the Berliner Philharmoniker take a musical journey to neighbouring European countries. Simon Rattle conducts a work from his native England: Edward Elgar’s unusually orchestrated Introduction and Allegro for string quartet and string orchestra, followed by the Slavonic Dances by Antonín Dvořák. In addition, a series initiated by Sir Simon of world premieres of short works begins, under the title “Tapas”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2016 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Edward Elgar composer
Daniel Stabrawa violin
Thomas Timm violin
Máté Szűcs viola
Ludwig Quandt cello
Julian Anderson composer
Antonín Dvořák composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy