Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket

Simon Rattle conducts Haydn, Schubert and Hosokawa


Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

Stefan Dohr

  • Joseph Haydn
    Symphony No. 99 in E flat major (00:27:39)

  • Toshio Hosokawa
    Horn Concerto (00:20:49)

    Stefan Dohr Horn

  • Franz Schubert
    Symphony No. 8 »Great C major« (00:58:57)

  • free

    Toshio Hosokawa on his career and the images in his music (00:10:03)

  • free

    Stefan Dohr on Toshio Hosokawa and his Horn Concerto (00:11:05)

Symphonies and concertos are among genres which follow apparently unalterable models, where themes and keys form a musical architecture based on strict rules. That this does not have to be the case is shown in this concert with Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle. The programme includes works which in a partly playful and partly innovative manner, push the limits of the traditional forms: Joseph Haydn's Symphony No. 99, the "Great" C major Symphony by Franz Schubert and - in a premiere - a horn concerto by Toshio Hosokawa.

Simon Rattle once described Haydn's treatment of the symphonic form as, "a wonderful mixture of the joy of playing and of surprise. As a conductor, you try to take charge of it, but then suddenly you find it has taken you unawares yet again. For audiences too, it is both a witty and uncommonly intelligent experience to enter this maze." Schubert's final symphony is also rich in unexpected surprises, but here, the effect is less humorously intended. When a theme or the musical structure disintegrates, when idyllic scenes descend crashing into catastrophe, Schubert mercilessly reflects the fragility of human life.

Hiroshima-born Toshio Hosokawa also finds a way to bring a new perspective to a handed-down compositional form. "Moment of Blossoming" is the subtitle of his new horn concerto - a reference to the mythically revered lotus flower of Hosokawa's homeland, with a musical depiction of the flower blossoming in a lake. The soloist and dedicatee of this work is Stefan Dohr, solo horn player with the Berliner Philharmoniker since 1993.

EMISir Simon Rattle appears by kind permission of EMI Classics.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free