Simon Rattle conducts Shostakovich’s Fourth Symphony

Dmitri Shostakovich himself complained that his Fourth Symphony suffered from “grandiosomania” – certainly too harsh a judgement, for its power and greatness is flawed, slipping again and again into the surreal. Simon Rattle fully explored the many layers of the work in September 2009. He also conducted works by Alban Berg und Paul Dessau. The concert’s soloists were Angela Denoke and the pianist Lars Vogt.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Angela Denoke

Lars Vogt

Programme Guide

© 2009 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy