Daniel Harding conducts Mahler’s First Symphony

The music of Gustav Mahler stands on the threshold of Modernism: sometimes sceptical, sometimes self-confident, and yet despite occasional nostalgic impulses, it is always decidedly innovative. Daniel Harding juxtaposes Mahler’s First Symphony with works by Alban Berg and Charles Ives, contemporaries whose musical language has similarities as well as major differences to Mahler. An exciting journey of discovery.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Harding

Dorothea Röschmann

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Daniel Harding conductor
Charles Ives composer
Alban Berg composer
Gustav Mahler composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy