Daniel Barenboim conducts the 1997 Europakonzert from Versailles

The Palace of Versailles is the very epitome of Baroque magnificence. In 1997 it was the scene of the Europakonzert given annually by the Berliner Philharmoniker. The conductor was Daniel Barenboim, who was also the soloist in Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 13. The programme additionally featured Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony and, as a tribute to the venue, Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin, a delightful homage to François Couperin, who was once court composer in Versailles.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Barenboim

Programme Guide

© 1997 EuroArts Music International



Daniel Barenboim conductor, piano
Maurice Ravel composer
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer
Ludwig van Beethoven composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy