Daniel Barenboim and Plácido Domingo at the 1992 Europakonzert in the Escorial

With its combined function of monastery and royal palace, the Basilica of the Escorial near Madrid is the largest Renaissance building in the world. It was here that Daniel Barenboim conducted the Berliner Philharmoniker at the orchestra’s 1992 Europakonzert, with Schubert’s Unfinished as the main symphonic work on the programme. A further highlight was the appearance of star tenor Plácido Domingo, who made his Philharmoniker debut in works by Verdi, Berlioz and Wagner.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Barenboim

Plácido Domingo

Programme Guide

© 1992 brilliant music



Daniel Barenboim conductor, piano
Giuseppe Verdi composer
Plácido Domingo tenor, conductor
Hector Berlioz composer
Franz Schubert composer
Richard Wagner composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy