Alan Gilbert conducts Brahms, Chin and Webern

Alan Gilbert conducts Brahms, Chin and Webern

Berliner Philharmoniker
Alan Gilbert

Sunwook Kim

  • Anton Webern
    Im Sommerwind, Idyll for large orchestra

  • Unsuk Chin
    Concerto for Piano and Orchestra

    Sunwook Kim piano

  • Johannes Brahms
    Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, op. 25 (orchestrated by Arnold Schoenberg)

The early 20th century was not only influenced by avant-garde concepts but was also characterized by an unbridled passion for intoxicating sounds. Alan Gilbert, chief conductor of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, demonstrates that in this programme. We can almost feel the gentle breeze that Anton Webern evokes in his impressionist early work Im Sommerwind (In the Summer Wind). And Arnold Schoenberg clearly took great pleasure in intensifying the colours of Brahms’s Piano Quartet No. 1, drawing on all the orchestra’s resources. Unsuk Chin’s iridescent, sensuous Piano Concerto will be heard between the two works, with Sunwook Kim as soloist.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist