Sakari Oramo and Alban Gerhardt

Two fabulous, mythical travel stories from Scandinavia are on the programme in this concert: Edvard Grieg’s Peer Gynt Suite No. 1 and Jean Sibelius’ Lemminkäinen Suite. Between these two works will be the European premiere of the Cello Concerto by Brett Dean, one of the most sought-after composers of our time and former violist with the Berliner Philharmoniker. The conductor is Sakari Oramo, who currently heads the BBC Symphony Orchestra. The soloist is Alban Gerhardt.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sakari Oramo

Alban Gerhardt

Programme Guide

© 2018 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sakari Oramo conductor
Edvard Grieg composer
Brett Dean composer
Alban Gerhardt cello
Johann Sebastian Bach composer
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy