Season opening 2021: Kirill Petrenko conducts Schubert’s “Great” C major Symphony

Kirill Petrenko opened the 2021/22 season of the Berliner Philharmoniker with the enchanting and mysterious world of Romanticism. The main work on the programme is Franz Schubert’s “Great” C major Symphony, in which exuberance, dance and nobility are shaken by moments of deep despair. Carl Maria von Weber transports us to the magical realm of Oberon, the king of the elves, which inspired Paul Hindemith’s colourful Symphonic Metamorphosis.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Programme Guide

© 2021 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Carl Maria von Weber composer
Paul Hindemith composer
Franz Schubert composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy