Tugan Sokhiev and Nikolai Lugansky

In this concert, Tugan Sokhiev presents three melodious discoveries: Ernest Chausson’s Symphony in B flat major, which the orchestra last performed in 1975. This work features shimmering French colours and a great lamento influenced by Wagner. Other rarities are Rimsky-Korsakov’s folklike overture to the opera The Tsar’s Bride and the First Piano Concerto by the 17-year-old Sergei Rachmaninov, with Nikolai Lugansky as soloist.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev

Nikolai Lugansky

Programme Guide

© 2021 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Tugan Sokhiev conductor
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov composer
Sergei Rachmaninov composer
Nikolai Lugansky piano
Ernest Chausson composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy