Tugan Sokhiev conducts Mahler’s First

Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 1 already demonstrates all the hallmarks of the composer’s style: the emotional outbursts, abruptly opening chasms, folk melodies, sounds of nature, and grotesque alienation. Tugan Sokhiev presents this work alongside Lili Boulanger’s Impressionistic, shimmering D’un matin de printemps and the newly composed viola concerto by Mahler enthusiast Donghoon Shin. The soloist is Amihai Grosz, first principal viola with the Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev

Amihai Grosz

@ 2025 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Tugan Sokhiev conductor
Lili Boulanger composer
Donghoon Shin composer
Amihai Grosz viola
Gustav Mahler composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy