Kirill Petrenko conducts Mendelssohn and Shostakovich

In this programme, Kirill Petrenko first takes us to Great Britain. Inspired by a visit to Scotland, Mendelssohn composed his atmospherically dense Third Symphony. Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony – the first he wrote after Stalin’s death in 1953 – is programmatically very different. The composer makes the repression of the Stalin era palpable with oppressive, often grotesque music, before closing with a movement full of hope.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Programme Guide

© 2021 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy