Kirill Petrenko conducts Zimmermann, Lutosławski and Brahms

Anyone who wants to continue the symphonic tradition must have self-confidence and creativity. In this concert, Kirill Petrenko presents two composers who took this risk: we hear Witold Lutosławski’s splendidly virtuosic Symphony No. 1 and the Janus-faced Second Symphony by Johannes Brahms, which the composer himself described as a “lovely monster”. The concert opens with Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s sound surface composition Photoptosis.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Programme Guide

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Bernd Alois Zimmermann composer
Witold Lutosławski composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy