Semyon Bychkov conducts Mahler’s Fourth and a new work by Larcher

Mahler’s Fourth occupies a special place among his symphonies because of its delicate transparency: a sunny idyll that seems to be faced with a constant threat, however. “It contains the cheerfulness of a higher and, for us, unfamiliar world that holds something eerie and horrifying,” Mahler said. The conductor of this performance is Semyon Bychkov; also on the programme is a new piano concerto by Thomas Larcher, with Kirill Gerstein as soloist.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Semyon Bychkov

Kirill Gerstein

Chen Reiss

Programme Guide

© 2021 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Semyon Bychkov conductor
Thomas Larcher composer
Kirill Gerstein piano
Gustav Mahler composer
Chen Reiss soprano

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy