Kirill Petrenko conducts Shostakovich’s Eighth Symphony

13 Nov 2020

Berliner Philharmoniker
Kirill Petrenko

  • Dmitri Shostakovich
    Symphony No. 8 in C minor, op. 65 (65 min.)

  • free

    Kirill Petrenko in conversation with Noah Bendix-Balgley (19 min.)

Following the performance of the Ninth Symphony at the end of October, the Berliner Philharmoniker with chief conductor Kirill Petrenko will now present Shostakovich’s Eighth, which will be broadcast from the Philharmonie Berlin without an audience. The stirring music, which was created in the middle of the Second World War, is characterised by not only sadness and despair but also by beauty and hope. Organised spontaneously for the Digital Concert Hall, the performance is intended for classical music fans from all over the world to bridge the period of closed concert halls.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist