Kirill Petrenko and Frank Peter Zimmermann

“Alban Berg’s Violin Concerto is a piece that gets under your skin,” says violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann. Devastated by the death of Manon Gropius, the daughter of Alma Mahler and Walter Gropius, the composer created a musical memorial to the young girl with this work, and at the same time created one of the most poignant concertos of the 20th century. Antonín Dvořák strikes a completely different mood in his Fifth Symphony – one that is cheerful, relaxed and pastoral. The work is dedicated to Hans von Bülow, the first chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Frank Peter Zimmermann

Programme Guide

© 2020 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Alban Berg composer
Frank Peter Zimmermann violin
Johann Sebastian Bach composer
Antonín Dvořák composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy