Paavo Järvi and Seong-Jin Cho

Seong-Jin Cho, 2024/25 Artist in Residence, is considered a poet at the piano and, by his own admission, also has a penchant for black humour. This is reflected not least in the work he has chosen for this programme, Shostakovich’s Concerto for Piano and Trumpet which brilliantly parodies the genre of the piano concerto. In contrast to this is Anton Bruckner’s First Symphony with its spiritual solemnity. Paavo Järvi opens the evening with an overture by Veljo Tormis.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi

Seong-Jin Cho

Guillaume Jehl

© 2024 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Paavo Järvi conductor
Veljo Tormis composer
Dmitri Shostakovich composer
Seong-Jin Cho piano
Guillaume Jehl trumpet
Anton Bruckner composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy