Paavo Järvi and Lisa Batiashvili with Sibelius’s Violin Concerto

“The first notes of Jean Sibelius’s Violin Concerto rarely shine simultaneously as clearly and as focused as with Lisa Batiashvili,” was what Bayerischer Rundfunk said in its review. The Georgian violinist, who in this concert stands in for the indisposed Janine Jansen, presents the darkly timbred work, whose free, rhapsodic form requires most creative of skills. Paavo Järvi also conducts Shostakovich’s Sixth Symphony, which reflects the horrors of the Stalin era with brooding resignation and grotesque savagery.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi

Lisa Batiashvili

Programme Guide

© 2018 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Paavo Järvi conductor
Jean Sibelius composer
Lisa Batiashvili violin
Dmitri Shostakovich composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy