Claudio Abbado conducts famous final movements at the 1999 New Year’s Eve Concert

31 Dec 1999
New Year’s Eve Concert

Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado

Klaus-Maria Brandauer, Klaus Wallendorf

  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Symphony No. 7 in A major, op. 92: 4. Allegro con brio (10 min.)

  • Antonín Dvořák
    Symphony No. 8 in G major, op. 88: 4. Allegro ma non troppo (9 min.)

  • Gustav Mahler
    Symphony No. 5: 5. Rondo. Finale (15 min.)

  • Igor Stravinsky
    L’Oiseau de feu (The Firebird), suite (1919): Infernal Dance of King Kaschei · Berceuse · Finale (12 min.)

  • Maurice Ravel
    Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No. 2: Danse générale (5 min.)

    Rundfunkchor Berlin, RIAS Kammerchor Berlin

  • Sergei Prokofiev
    Alexander Newski: Alexander’s entry into Pskov (5 min.)

    Rundfunkchor Berlin, RIAS Kammerchor Berlin

  • Arnold Schoenberg
    Gurre-Lieder: Part 3 no. 9 “Seht die Sonne” (11 min.)

    Rundfunkchor Berlin, RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, Klaus-Maria Brandauer Speaker

  • Paul Lincke
    Grigri: Overture · Folies Bergères: March · Brandbrief-Galopp (12 min.)

    Klaus Wallendorf Presentation

  • Siegfried Translateur
    Wiener Praterleben (“Sportpalastwalzer”) (6 min.)

  • Ernst Fischer
    In vino veritas: Perlender Champagner (3 min.)

  • Otto Nicolai
    Die lustigen Weiber von Windsor (The Merry Wives of Windsor): Overture (9 min.)

  • Walter Kollo
    Drunter und Drüber: “Solang noch Untern Linden” (3 min.)

    Rundfunkchor Berlin, RIAS Kammerchor Berlin

  • Paul Lincke
    Berliner Luft (5 min.)

    Rundfunkchor Berlin, RIAS Kammerchor Berlin

Even serious music lovers know it: the anticipation of the finale of a symphonic work where the composer once again mobilises all available musical forces to achieve a climax that brings audiences to their feet. On New Year’s Eve 1999, the Berliner Philharmoniker audience was granted the rare opportunity of enjoying an entire evening of just those spectacular closing movements: an appropriate farewell to the 20th century. 

Led by chief conductor Claudio Abbado, the concert broadly followed historical chronology: Firstly, the brisk, storming finale from Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, followed by Dvořák’s Eighth, which demonstrates just how Bohemian melancholy can turn suddenly into wild rebellion. On the other hand, the sunny and powerful conclusion to Mahler’s Fifth Symphony is unusually optimistic for the composer. With the jagged rhythms of Stravinsky’s fairy-tale ballet The Firebird, we reach the classical modern age. Sergei Prokofiev then sets a monument to the Russian national hero Alexander Nevsky in his cantata of the same name, before the official part of the concert comes to a close with Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder, narrated by the world-famous Austrian actor Klaus Maria Brandauer.

But the concert is not over yet. Introduced by a humorous speech by the orchestra’s horn player Klaus Wallendorf, the musicians then served up a selection of cheerful encores from the repertoire of Berlin operetta from the 1920s, culminating in a piece with which the Berliner Philharmoniker always conclude their open-air concerts at the Waldbühne: the unofficial Berlin anthem by Paul Lincke, Berliner Luft.


© 1999 EuroArts Music International

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist