Claudio Abbado: The silence that follows the music

This documentary about Claudio Abbado from the year 1996 is as much a journey through the recent history of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Director Paul Smaczny shows how the orchestra re-adjusted itself after the end of the Karajan era – such as in electing Abbado as chief conductor, whose friendly approach redefined communication and the artistic work of the orchestra.

A film by Paul Smaczny (1996)

Claudio Abbado

Daniel Barenboim

Pierre Boulez

Zubin Mehta

Maria João Pires

Maximilian Schell

Berliner Philharmoniker

Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester



Claudio Abbado Chief conductor 1990–2002
Daniel Barenboim Conductor, piano
Pierre Boulez Composer, conductor
Zubin Mehta conductor
Maria João Pires piano

© 1996 EuroArts Music International

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy