Maestros in Democracy

The Berliner Philharmoniker are the world’s oldest self-governing orchestra of international standing. But what does this mean in practice? The answer is revealed by this film, which follows Sir Simon Rattle’s election as Claudio Abbado’s successor and accompanies the orchestra from the time of Abbado’s announcement that he was stepping down in February 1998 to the decision in favour of Rattle in June 1999.

A film by Isabel Iturriagagoitia and Paul Smaczny (2002)

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado

Daniel Barenboim

Bernard Haitink

Lorin Maazel

Zubin Mehta

Sir Simon Rattle

Esa-Pekka Salonen



Claudio Abbado Chief conductor 1990–2002
Daniel Barenboim Conductor, piano
Bernard Haitink conductor
Lorin Maazel conductor
Zubin Mehta conductor
Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Esa-Pekka Salonen Composer, conductor

© 2002 EuroArts Music International

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy