New Year’s Eve Concert with Simon Rattle, Thomas Quasthoff and Pauline Malefane

For his third New Year’s Eve Concert as chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker Sir Simon Rattle set out to explore the history of 20th-century American music. At the head of an orchestra described by the press as “the best big band in the world”, he conducted works by Gershwin, Barber, Copland and Adams with powerful vocal support from Thomas Quasthoff and the South African soprano Pauline Malefane.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Pauline Malefane

Thomas Quasthoff

Programme Guide

© 2008 EuroArts Music International



Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
George Gershwin composer
Samuel Barber composer
Aaron Copland composer
Thomas Quasthoff bass-baritone
John Adams composer, conductor
John Philip Sousa composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy