Europakonzert 2011 from Madrid with Simon Rattle and Cañizares

In this 2011 Europakonzert from the Teatro Real in Madrid, Simon Rattle generates a lot of Spanish heat with works including Emmanuel Chabrier’s exuberant rhapsody España and Joaquín Rodrigo’s world famous Concierto de Aranjuez with the flamenco virtuoso Cañizares as the soloist. In an appealing contrast to these works, we also hear Sergei Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony, a piece full of Slavonic melancholy and an entrancingly wistful Adagio movement.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle


Programme Guide

© 2011 EuroArts Music International



Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Emmanuel Chabrier composer
Cañizares guitar
Joaquín Rodrigo composer
Sergei Rachmaninov composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy