Zubin Mehta and Rudolf Buchbinder with Beethoven and Strauss

This concert, under the baton of Zubin Mehta, was dedicated to the memory of Cladio Abbado who had died a few days before on 20 January 2014. A minute’s silence was followed by an addition to the programme, the Adagietto from Mahler’s Fifth Symphony. The evening continued with Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto with Rudolph Buchbinder as the soloist, and other works by Webern and Strauss.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta

Rudolf Buchbinder

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Zubin Mehta conductor
Gustav Mahler composer
Anton Webern composer
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Rudolf Buchbinder piano
Richard Strauss composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy