Simon Rattle conducts Brahms, Debussy and Haas

Anyone who thinks of Impressionism in music thinks of Claude Debussy’s multi-coloured, shimmering tone poem La Mer. In this concert from February 2014, Sir Simon Rattle contrasts this with Johannes Brahms’s Third Symphony whose many beauties include the theme of the Allegretto, possibly the most yearning melody of all time. This concert also includes the world premiere of a new work by Georg Friedrich Haas.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Johannes Brahms composer
Georg Friedrich Haas composer
Claude Debussy composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy