Simon Rattle presents Schoenberg’s sensuous side

In this concert, Simon Rattle presents Arnold Schoenberg’s sensuous side: in his Begleitmusik zu einer Lichtspielszene and the monodrama Erwartung we hear nightmarish brutality and psychotic fear. Schoenberg’s orchestration of Brahms’s Piano Quartet No. 1 is quite different – music full of exuberant high spirits. As the soloist in Erwartung, Evelyn Herlitzius makes her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Evelyn Herlitzius

Programme Guide

© 2009 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Evelyn Herlitzius soprano
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy