Simon Rattle conducts Mozart’s Symphonies Nos. 39, 40 & 41

In their radiance, elegance and drama, Mozart creates almost a résumé of his worlds of expression in his last three symphonies, Simon Rattle opened the 2013/14 season with these works and reveals by way of example the Mozart style of the Berliner Philharmoniker at that time, in which transparency as well as warm sonority are given full scope. As one critic wrote, “Simon Rattle draws the full depth from the Mozart symphonies”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2013 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy