Concert celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall

The Berlin Wall fell on 9 November 1989. 25 years later, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle commemorated this historical date with this special concert. What work could be more suitable for this purpose than Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony with its message of freedom and fraternity? The victims of the division of Berlin and the world were also remembered in a performance of Karol Szymanowski’s poignant Stabat mater.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Sally Matthews

Bernarda Fink

Hanno Müller-Brachmann

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Christian Elsner

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Karol Szymanowski composer
Sally Matthews soprano
Bernarda Fink contralto
Hanno Müller-Brachmann baritone
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey chorus master
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Christian Elsner tenor

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy