Karajan conducts Tchaikovsky’s Symphonies Nos. 4–6

Hardly any other composer bequeathed a legacy of such uninhibitedly emotional music as did Peter Tchaikovsky, who brilliantly fused personal experience and suffering with superb compositional art. It is evident that Herbert von Karajan, master of voluptuous sound and emphasis, was an ideal Tchaikovsky interpreter. In these recordings from 1973 he conducts the last three symphonies, including the famous Pathétique.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert von Karajan

Programme Guide

© 1973 Unitel


Herbert von Karajan Chief conductor 1956–1989
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy