Simon Rattle conducts Beethoven’s Symphonies Nos. 1 and 3

Performing all the Beethoven symphonies is always a unique project. After a first series in 2008, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Simon Rattle presented their interpretation once again in October 2015. The starting point is the First Symphony, whose dissonant opening chord already announces the exciting individuality of the cycle – before the fierce Eroica conclusively breaks with all musical standards of the time.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Ludwig van Beethoven composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy