Andris Nelsons conducts Strauss’s “Alpine Symphony”

Richard Strauss’ spectacularly orchestrated Alpine Symphony, a showpiece of the Berliner Philharmoniker since the days of Herbert von Karajan, was given its premiere in Berlin on 28 October 1915. The orchestra celebrated the 100th anniversary of this event with a colourful and expressive performance under the baton of Andris Nelsons. The programme also includes Shostakovich’s disturbing, virtuoso Violin Concerto No. 1 with Baiba Skride as the soloist.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons

Baiba Skride

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Andris Nelsons conductor
Dmitri Shostakovich composer
Baiba Skride violin
Richard Strauss composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy