Herbert Blomstedt conducts Dvořák and Berwald

Melancholy while powerful, never maudlin: that’s Antonín Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony. The mixture of varied moods is particularly compelling, for instance, in the Scherzo, which is at the same time lugubrious and dance-like. Together with it, Herbert Blomstedt conducts a rediscovery: Franz Berwald’s Third Symphony, a stirring work sometimes reminiscent of Mendelssohn that the Berliner Philharmoniker last performed in 1950.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert Blomstedt

Programme Guide

© 2016 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Herbert Blomstedt conductor
Franz Berwald composer
Antonín Dvořák composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy