Herbert Blomstedt conducts Beethoven’s Missa solemnis

Beethoven himself called it his “greatest work”: the Missa solemnis. This monumental piece of sacred music no longer subordinates itself to the dictates of the liturgy, but unrestrainedly conveys the thoughts and feelings of the composer. Here the mass can be heard in a performance by the Berliner Philharmoniker, the choir of Bayerischer Rundfunk and the conductor Herbert Blomstedt.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert Blomstedt

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Herbert Blomstedt conductor
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Gerhild Romberger contralto
Georg Zeppenfeld bass

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy