“Tristan und Isolde” with Simon Rattle, Eva-Maria Westbroek and Stuart Skelton

No greater love is conceivable than that between Tristan and Isolde. But although Richard Wagner conveys yearning and ecstasy in unparalleled intensity in his opera, what’s lacking is any of the effortlessness of happiness – the tragic end is woven into the music right from the outset. After performances at the 2016 Baden-Baden Easter Festival, Sir Simon Rattle presented the complex work with Eva-Maria Westbroek and Stuart Skelton in the Berlin Philharmonie.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Eva-Maria Westbroek

Stuart Skelton

Programme Guide

© 2016 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews



Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Richard Wagner composer
Eva-Maria Westbroek soprano
Stuart Skelton tenor
Michael Nagy bass-baritone
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey chorus master

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy