The 1999 Europakonzert in Krakow with Bernard Haitink, Emanuel Ax and Christine Schäfer

To mark the 150th anniversary of Chopin’s death in 1999, the orchestra travelled to Poland where, under the direction of Bernard Haitink, they held their ninth Europakonzert in the magnificent setting of Krakow’s Gothic St Mary’s Basilica. The soloist in the Second Piano Concerto by Poland’s national composer was Emanuel Ax. Plus, there was music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – with Christine Schäfer as the soloist – and Robert Schumann’s Spring Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Bernard Haitink

Programme Guide

© 1999 EuroArts Music International



Bernard Haitink conductor
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer
Christine Schäfer soprano
Frédéric Chopin composer
Emanuel Ax piano
Robert Schumann composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy