Simon Rattle conducts “Bluebeard’s Castle”

Béla Bartók’s only opera Bluebeard’s Castle sounds enigmatic and dark. This is a spectral psychological drama, clad in an impressionist music rich in allusions. The vocal soloists at this performance with Simon Rattle are Rinat Shaham and Gábor Bretz. As a counterpoint there is – with Emanuel Ax as soloist – a new piano concerto by HK Gruber, whose style is characterised by subtle wit and jazzy swing.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Emanuel Ax

Rinat Shaham

Gábor Bretz

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews



Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
HK Gruber composer
Emanuel Ax piano
Béla Bartók composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy