Simon Rattle conducts Dvořák, Turnage and Brahms

Rarely is classical music as cheerful as in the serenades of the 18th century. Simon Rattle shows at this concert how ingeniously the genre was taken up in the late romantic era. Thus, for instance, Antonín Dvořák expanded traditional forms in his wind serenade to include Bohemian colours. Johannes Brahms, whose Serenade No. 2 has almost symphonic dimensions, went even one step further. There is also a new work by Mark-Anthony Turnage.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Antonín Dvořák composer
Mark-Anthony Turnage composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy