Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

  • Johannes Brahms
    Symphony No. 3 in F major, op. 90 (00:42:14)

  • Dmitri Shostakovich
    Symphony No. 10 in E minor, op. 93 (01:00:38)

This piece not only has a special history regarding its reception. Perhaps the brightest in the tetralogy, Johannes Brahms’ Third Symphony played an important role as a psychological phenomena for the Berliner Philharmoniker. The work was one of Herbert von Karajan’s favourites, and when Claudio Abbado added it to the concert programme shortly after Karajan’s death, he not only stunned his Berlin audience, but also the orchestra – with a melodious act of emancipation, as it were. Now Simon Rattle certainly doesn’t need to convince anyone of his affinity for Brahms. This is why it is an outright delight that he selected the Symphony in F Major for the opening concert for the programme of the 2008/2009 season. The Berliner Philharmoniker and their principle conductor interpret the opus in the Philharmonie, presenting with it another piece with a long and eventful history: Dmitri Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony.

EMISir Simon Rattle appears by kind permission of EMI Classics.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free