Andris Nelsons conducts sumptuous works of the 20th century

In this ingenious programme, Andris Nelsons presents composers from the early 20th century who were creatively and innovatively inspired by music of the past – such as Gregorian chant, revitalised by Hans Pfitzner in his prelude to Palestrina, Baroque music in Heinrich Kaminski’s Dorian Music, and the Viennese waltz in Richard Strauss’s Der Rosenkavalier. Wolfgang Rihm’s Marsyas, in contrast, is thoroughly modern yet always melodious.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons

Jan Schlichte

Gábor Tarkövi

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Andris Nelsons conductor
Hans Pfitzner composer
Heinrich Kaminski composer
Jan Schlichte percussion
Wolfgang Rihm composer
Gábor Tarkövi trumpet
Richard Strauss composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy