Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s Ninth Symphony

Here, the Berliner Philharmoniker and chief conductor Sir Simon Rattle perform Gustav Mahler’s Ninth Symphony. Many regard this work as a kind of musical harbinger of death – partly because Mahler died a year after its completion, but principally because the character of the symphony is determined by disintegration and dissolution. The press wrote that the orchestra was “rarely to be heard as well-balanced and dedicated” as in this concert.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Helmut Lachenmann composer
Gustav Mahler composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy