Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket

Anniversary concert of the Orchester-Akademie with Simon Rattle

Anniversary concert

Orchestra Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

  • Benedict Mason: Musik für die Philharmonie · Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 8 (02:05:04)

The high-point of the day celebrating the 40th anniversary of the Berliner Philharmoniker’s Orchester-Akademie is a symphony concert organised exclusively by former and current scholars of the Academy. Since 1972, selected young musicians have been prepared in the Academy for a professional musical life, later finding positions in leading orchestras. For the first time since the institution’s founding, instrumentalists from every Academy generation all over the world will now be gathering to make music in the Philharmonie.

Sir Simon Rattle will conduct an orchestra of former scholars that will exist in this formation only on a single day in order to perform Anton Bruckner’s Eighth Symphony. The orchestra’s foundation, Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker, is presenting the Academy with a new work for its birthday by the British composer Benedict Mason, a riveting introduction to the Bruckner whose world premiere the academists are also performing. Dedicated to its founders, the Academy’s concert represents both a sincere token of gratitude for its past and an optimistic glimpse into its future!

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free