Works by Dmitri Shostakovich and Arnold Schoenberg with Semyon Bychkov and Guy Braunstein

For regular concert goers to Berlin’s Philharmonie he was a well-known face for many years: Guy Braunstein, who was the orchestra’s 1st concertmaster from 2000 to 2013. Here he is the soloist in Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1, a work characterised by Jewish folk music, with its shifts between cheerfulness and anguish. Semyon Bychkov also conducts Arnold Schoenberg’s expressive classic Verklärte Nacht.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Semyon Bychkov

Guy Braunstein

Programme Guide

© 2009 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Semyon Bychkov conductor
Igor Stravinsky composer
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Dmitri Shostakovich composer
Guy Braunstein violin

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy