Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket

Andris Nelsons and Guy Braunstein with works by Brahms and Strauss


Berliner Philharmoniker
Andris Nelsons

Guy Braunstein

  • Johannes Brahms
    Violin Concerto in D major (00:53:34)

    Guy Braunstein Violin

  • Richard Strauss
    Ein Heldenleben (00:57:01)

  • free

    Guy Braunstein reveals how the Brahms’s Violin Concerto brought him to the Berliner Philharmoniker (00:16:30)

It was Hans von Bülow, the one-time chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker who said that Johannes Brahms’s Violin Concerto is a “concerto against the violin” – simply because the soloist is given little opportunity for virtuoso showmanship. In this concert, the Berliner Philharmoniker, soloist Guy Braunstein and conductor Andris Nelsons set about to uncover the evident as well as the hidden charms of the work. 

The solo part of the Violin Concerto is however anything but easy to play. With the violin closely interwoven with the other instruments for long passages, the work can appear more like a symphony than a concerto. All the greater then is the effect when it confidently rises above its fellow instruments with its delicate lines, leaving all the large-scale orchestral force behind it. The violinist Guy Braunstein has become a familiar face to Berliner Philharmoniker audiences ever since he became 1st Concertmaster of the orchestra in 2000. Just eight years earlier he had made his Philharmonic debut – as one of the soloists in Beethoven’s Triple Concerto.

The second work of the evening, Richard Strauss’s Ein Heldenleben, complements Brahms’s Violin Concerto in two respects. Firstly, there is the triumphant gesture of this self-portrait – that is, after all, what it is – in direct contrast to the seriousness of the Brahms work. And secondly, in the third movement you can experience how an expansive violin solo develops unexpectedly from a symphonic poem, played here by Guy Braunstein’s fellow concertmaster, Daishin Kashimoto.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free