Christian Thielemann and Albrecht Mayer with works by Strauss and Bruckner

Christian Thielemann’s international fame rests not least on his highly acclaimed interpretations of Bruckner. In this concert, he conducts the composer’s most popular work, the Fourth Symphony. As the epithet Romantic implies, Bruckner here creates a vision of a better past. Richard Strauss’s Oboe Concerto which opens the concert has a similarly nostalgic flavour. The soloist is Albrecht Mayer.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Christian Thielemann

Albrecht Mayer

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH, Unitel

Related interviews


Christian Thielemann conductor
Richard Strauss composer
Albrecht Mayer oboe
Johann Sebastian Bach composer
Anton Bruckner composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy