Christian Thielemann conducts Tchaikovsky’s “Pathétique”

According to Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, he “wept bitterly” while composing his poignant Pathétique. Whereby it probably needs a minimum of serenity in order to create such an ingeniously constructed work in which there is, for example, a waltz in the complicated 5/4 time. Christian Thielemann makes space for both of the symphony’s worlds, its emotion and its skilful structure. The remainder of the concert is devoted to works of French music by Debussy and Messiaen.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Christian Thielemann

RIAS Kammerchor Berlin

Jane Archibald

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Christian Thielemann conductor
Claude Debussy composer
RIAS Kammerchor Berlin
Olivier Messiaen composer
Jane Archibald soprano
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy