until 25 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket

24 Oct 2009

Berliner Philharmoniker
Iván Fischer

Netherlands Youth Choir, Oszkár Ökrös

  • Joseph Haydn
    Symphony No. 88 in G major (23 min.)

  • Béla Bartók
    Seven Pieces for chorus and chamber orchestra (18 min.)

    Netherlands Youth Choir, Wilma ten Wolde Chorus Master

  • Franz Liszt
    Hungarian Rhapsody No. 1 (16 min.)

    Oszkár Ökrös Cimbalom

  • Johannes Brahms
    Hungarian Dances: No. 11 in D minor · No. 15 in B flat major (orchestrated by Iván Fischer) (8 min.)

  • Zoltán Kodály
    Dances of Galánta (20 min.)

  • free

    Iván Fischer in conversation with Emmanuel Pahud (17 min.)

From a musical perspective, the lands of the old Habsburg monarchy boasted fertile soil: great achievements in the world of art music came from here and a fascinating folk music is just as at home here as is the fiery idiom of the gypsies, the full wealth of which can be experienced in this evening’s concert with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Iván Fischer. Haydn, the composer who established central genres of Viennese Classicism, such as the string quartet and the symphony, is represented this evening by his Symphony No. 88. A good 50 years later, one of the most entertaining misunderstandings in the history of music occurred when Liszt and Brahms tried to lend their rhapsodies and dances an animated Hungarian verve – when in fact it was the music of the gypsies they picked up on. The works of Bartók and Kodály, which are based on authentic folk music, with its hard rhythms and distinctive, uneven melodies, reveal the difference to Magyar music. Coming from Budapest and having studied in Vienna, Fischer is clearly the ideal conductor for such a concert. Among his many recordings, his interpretations of Bartók and Kodály in particular have won several prizes such as the Gramophone Award and the Diapason d’or de l’année.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free